Policy Dialogues

FICCI’s Forum of Parliamentarians organizes policy roundtables, interactive sessions, discussions and debates with incoming Parliamentary delegations, elected representatives, visiting political leaders, senior government officials and sectoral experts from other countries on key topics of bilateral, multilateral and regional interest. At the domestic level, the Forum recognises critical issues relating to India’s development story which are of concern to Indian MPs. The Forum organises roundtable dialogues between Indian parliamentarians, industry captains, representatives of multilateral institutions, experts and media on varied issues impacting the society.

>> Interaction with Indo-German Parliamentary Friendship Group from Bundestag
FICCI in association with German Embassy organised an interactive session with Members of the German Parliament (who are also members of the German-Indian Parliamentary Friendship Group) on 18th February at Federation House. The purpose of the visit of the delegation was to understand about the Indian economy and its growth and investment prospects since the formation of the new government at the Centre.

The Indian side was represented by Dr. Jyotsna Suri, President, FICCI, Mr. Sidharth Birla, Immediate Past President, FICCI, Mr. Nalin Kohli (National Spokesperson, Bhartiya Janata Party), and Mr. Rakesh Bakshi, CMD, RRB Energy Ltd. On the other side, ther German delegation was led by Mr. Ralph Brinkhaus, and comprising of Mr. Stefan Rebmann, Mr. Frank Steffel, and Ms. Kathrin Vogler.

>> Industry Interaction with nine visiting delegations of MPs from EU

>> Interaction with US Ambassador Richard Rahul Verma
FICCI organized the first meeting of the Indo-US Forum of Parliamentarians, on May 5, 2015 at Federation House. The Indo-US Forum has been reconstituted after the 2014 elections. New members of Parliament across all party lines have been inducted in the Forum. Shri Baijayant “Jay” Panda is the Chair of the Forum.

During the first interaction, titled ‘India-US Partnership: The beginning of a “strategic plus” phase’, Ambassador of the United States Mr Richard Rahul Verma shared the American perspective on the future of the India-US relationship.

Nineteen MPs from different parties and both houses of Parliament participated in the meeting (list pasted below). Select business leaders from both Indian and US companies, senior government officials and a few important members from academia also participated in the meeting. Erstwhile Ambassador to the United States, Meera Shankar moderated the interactive discussion following addresses by the US Ambassador, President FICCI and Secretary General.

>> Round Table Discussion on the India US Relationship and Emerging Paradigms of Geo-economics in Asia
FICCI organized a Round Table Discussion with the Indo-US Forum of Parliamentarians, on August 10, 2015 at Federation House.

Mr. Raymond Vickery Jr., Global Fellow, Asia Program, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. and Mr Kanwal Sibal, former Foreign Secretary were the two main speakers at the discussion. Mr Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda, Chair, India-US Forum of Parliamentarians and Mr Jyotiraditya Scindia, Co- Chair, India-US Forum of Parliamentarians and twelve other MPs from different parties and both houses of Parliament participated in the meeting.

>> Luncheon Discussion on “India and Germany: partners for a sustainable future”
FICCI in partnership with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) organised a Luncheon Discussion with the young Group of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the German Parliament on Tuesday October 27th 2015 at Federation House.

The discussion was chaired and moderated by Dr Jyotsna Suri, President FICCI. Mr Harshavardhan Neotia, President Elect – FICCI joined the discussions. Former Ambassador Bhaswati Mukherjee, Former Ambassador Nalin Surie, Director General – ICWA and Dr Ajit Ranade, Senior President and Chief Economist - Aditya Birla Group were the key speakers at the Session. Dr Lars Peter Schmidt, Director, KAS India and Mr Steffen Bilger, Member of the Bundestag and leader of the delegation addressed the gathering from the German side.

Seven MPs from different parties and both houses of Parliament participated in the meeting - Rajeev Shukla(INC,RS); Pinaki Misra (BJD,LS); K P Maurya (BJP, LS); Harish Chandra Meena (BJP, LS); Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP, LS); Rabindra Kumar Jena (BJD, LS); Rajeev Satav (INC, LS). Business leaders from India and media were well represented at the meeting.

>> Roundtable discussion with Congressmen from the United States
FICCI’s Forum of Parliamentarians organized a discussion with an important Congressional delegation from the United States on Monday, 18th January 2016 at Federation House.

The Congressional delegation comprised of Congressman Mr. Ami Bera (D-California); Congressman Mr. Derek Kilmer (D-Washington); Congressman Mr. Billy Long (R-Missouri); Congressman Mr. Juan Vargas (D-California); Congressman Mr. Brendan Boyle (D-Pennsylvania),Mr. Akshay Datta (staff).

Four MPs across parties and both houses of Parliament participated in the meeting - Rajeev Shukla(INC,RS); Harish Chandra Meena (BJP, LS); Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP, LS); Dr. Udit Raj (BJP, LS).

The discussion was moderated by Dr A Didar Singh, Secretary General, FICCI. Mr Harshavardhan Neotia, President FICCI was the key speaker at the interaction. Dr. Sanjaya Baru, Director for Geo-Economics and Strategy, Dr Arvind Virmani, Economist, Ambassador Kanwal Sibal, Former Foreign Secretary, Mr Ashutosh Chadha, FICCI IT Chair and Cmde Mukesh Bhargava, FICCI Defence Co-chair and FICCI team leaders representing sectors like defence, IT and health joined the discussion.

>> Special Interactive session on ‘Shifting the Conversation - From Empowerment to Equality’
FICCI’s Forum of Parliamentarians in partnership with FICCI Ladies Organisation (FLO) organized a special interactive session with women parliamentarians on Tuesday, 23rd February 2016 at Federation House.
The panel comprised of elected women representatives across party lines. Dr. Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar (AITC), Ms. Arpita Ghosh (AITC), Ms. Geetha Kothapalli (YSR), Ms. Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP) and Ms. Supriya Sule (NCP) participated in the panel discussion moderated by Ms Archana Garodia Gupta, President , FLO. Dr. Jyotsna Suri, Immediate Past President FICCI opened the discussion with her welcoming remarks.

>> Interactive session on US elections